ACO Collective

The Lark Ascending

ACO Collective

  • Tuesday 20 March 2018 7:00 pm
Run Time 120 minutes inc interval
PRICE FROM: $48.00 +BF

Did Vaughan Williams know when he wrote The Lark Ascending that it would go on to become one of the most popular classical works ever written?

Starring ACO Collective’s Artistic Director, Pekka Kuusisto, playing this poignantly brilliant masterpiece. Joining The Lark in this program are two other English works: Henry Purcell’s Fantasia upon One Note, containing a middle voice that plays literally one note throughout, and Benjamin Britten’s Second String Quartet which was written to commemorate 250 years since Purcell’s death providing a neat link between these two works.

To open this concert we have a world premiere by Cyrus Meurant, an Australian composer with a growing reputation, who has written a new work especially for these remarkable musicians.

CYRUS MEURANT New Work World Premiere*
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS (arr. Adam Johnson) The Lark Ascending
PURCELL Fantasia upon One Note
BRITTEN (arr. David Matthews) String Quartet No.2
* Commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra

Pekka Kuusisto Director & Violin
ACO Collective

The seventeen string musicians produced an outstanding performance…The communication between players was almost telepathic, with clarity of line and balance always secure…there was no denying the commitment of all concerned.

The Courier, Ballarat